DR Ambedkar IAS Academy

BIMSTEC Priority Sectors 14 priority sectors of cooperation were identified

BIMSTEC Priority Sectors

Six priority sectors of cooperation were identified at the 2nd Ministerial Meeting in Dhaka on 19 November 1998. They include the followings:

  1. Trade & Investment
  2. Transport & Communication
  3. Energy
  4. Tourism
  5. Technology
  6. Fisheries

After the 8th Ministerial Meeting in Dhaka on 18-19 December 2005, a number of new areas of cooperation emerged. The number of priority sectors of cooperation increased from 6 to 13. The 7 new sectors were discussed in the 1st BIMSTEC Summit and there has been various activities to enhance those co-operations ever since.The sectors are as follows;

  1. Agriculture
  2. Public Health
  3. Poverty Alleviation
  4. Counter-Terrorism & Transnational Crime
  5. Environment & Disaster Management
  6. People-to-People Contact
  7. Cultural Cooperation

The thirteenth Session of the BIMSTEC Senior Officials’ Meeting recommended the inclusion of Climate Change as the 14th priority area of cooperation. The eleventh BIMSTEC Ministerial Meeting held in New Delhi in November 2008 endorsed this recommendation.

  1. Climate Change
SectorsLead Countries
 1. Trade & Investment/Sub-sectorBangladesh
 2. Technology/Sub-sectorSri Lanka
 3. Energy/Sub-sectorMyanmar
 4. Transportation & Communication/Sub-sectorIndia
 5. Tourism/Sub-sectorIndia
 6. Fisheries/Sub-sectorThailand
 7. Agriculture/Sub-sectorMyanmar
 8. Cultural Cooperation/Sub-sectorBhutan
 9. Environment & Disaster Management/Sub-sectorIndia
10. Public Health/Sub-sectorThailand
11. People-to-People Contact/Sub-sectorThailand
12. Poverty Alleviation/Sub-sectorNepal
13.Counter-Terrorism & Transnational Crime/Sub-sectorIndia
14. Climate ChangeBangladesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *