DR Ambedkar IAS Academy

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)

What is FSSAI?

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) is an autonomous statutory body established under the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 (FSS Act).

Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India is the administrative Ministry of FSSAI.

Headquarters: Delhi.


FSS Act, 2006 consolidates various acts & orders that had earlier handled food related issues in various Ministries and Departments, such as–

Prevention of Food Adulteration Act, 1954

Fruit Products Order, 1955

Meat Food Products Order, 1973

Vegetable Oil Products (Control) Order, 1947

Edible Oils Packaging (Regulation) Order 1988

Milk and Milk Products Order, 1992

These were repealed after commencement of FSS Act, 2006.

FSSAI was consequently established in 2008 but work within the Food Authority effectively began in 2011 after its Rules and key Regulations were notified.

This marked a shift from a multi-level to a single line of control with focus on self-compliance rather than a pure regulatory regime.

7 Key Processes

  1. Set standards of food products
  2. Develop safe food practices
  3. License food businesses
  4. Ensure compliance through inspections
  5. Test food for standards
  6. Train and build capacity
  7. Citizens Outreach


Framing of regulations to lay down the standards and guidelines of food safety.

Granting FSSAI food safety license and certification for food businesses.

Laying down procedure and guidelines for laboratories in food businesses.

To provide suggestions to the government in framing the policies.

To collect data regarding contaminants in foods products, identification of emerging risks and introduction of rapid alert system.

Creating an information network across the country about food safety.

Promote general awareness about food safety and food standards.

FSSAI Legislative Framework:

Highlights of the Food Safety and Standard Act, 2006

The Act aims to establish a single reference point for all matters relating to food safety and standards, by moving from multi- level, multi-departmental control to a single line of command.

The Act established FSSAI and the State Food Safety Authorities for each State.

Highlights of Food Safety and Standards Rule, 2011. The Rules provides for:

The Food Safety Appellate Tribunal and the Registrar of the Appellate Tribunal, for adjudication of food safety cases.

Highlights of Food Safety and Standards Regulations 2011

It covers Licensing and Registration, Packaging and Labelling of Food Businesses, Food Product Standards and Food Additives Regulation.

It prohibits and restricts on sales or approval for Non-Specified Food and Food Ingredients, such ingredients may cause harm to human health.

It provides for Food Safety and Standards on Organic Food and regulates Food Advertising.

FSSAI Structure

The FSSAI comprises of a Chairperson and twenty two members out of which one – third are to be women.

The Chairperson of FSSAI is appointed by the Central Government.

The Food Authority is assisted by Scientific Committees and Panels in setting standards and the Central Advisory Committee in coordinating with enforcement agencies.

The primary responsibility for enforcement is largely with the State Food Safety Commissioners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *